reviews - there's no tagline. it's called "reviews". what else do you need?


Rescue Me - Season 6 Denis Leary
Rescue Me - Season 6 Season six drags a little because of the focus on Colleen's (Natalie Distler) drinking problem. Katy (Olivia Crocicchia) goes to boarding school and grows apart from Tommy and Janet (Andrea Roth). Through six seasons Tommy (Denis Leary) hasn't been able to get his family in order.

Budget cuts threaten the house, leading to classic Rescue Me action when they beat another house to a fire and save a school full of children without equipment. Needles (Adam Ferrara) battles Feinberg (Jerry Adler) over the cuts. Mickey (Robert John Burke) dates Sheila (Callie Thorne) behind Tommy's back. Mickey usually has moral superiority over Tommy. Turning the tables is always funny. The rest of the crew - Mike (Michael Lombardi), Sean (Steven Pasquale), Franco (Daniel Sunjata), Lou (John Scurti), and Shawn (Larenz Tate) - are their normal, mostly irreverent selves.

Damien (Michael Zegen) questions his commitment to firefighting before coming back and tragically getting paralyzed in a fire. The season ends with Tommy dealing with his role in Damien's choices.
 
60 minutes
This product was released around June 2010 by FX
I consumed this around 2010
More: Rescue Me - Season 6
Posted by: Jeff Egnaczyk at: 7/21/2011 9:43:46 PM
 
333
Rescue Me - Season 5 Denis Leary
Rescue Me - Season 5 All of Tommy's ghosts - his grown son, his cousin, his brother, his dad - visit him during one of his drunken video sessions. Tommy's dad let's his ghosts, the audience and even Tommy in on the secret that is the basis for the entire series. Essentially, Tommy is such a good firefighter because he doesn't feel anything. When he cleans up the remains of a kid at a highway car accident it's clear that he's the only member of the crew that can emotionally handle the carnage. His drinking is his attempt to make himself feel. The binge sessions are like a shock to the system trying to bring out all of his repressed emotions. On a daily basis though he needs alcohol to feel alive. That's what makes the introduction of Kelly (Maura Tierney) works. His wife, Janet, has lost with him but she wants nothing of that past. After their son was killed she jettisoned Tommy quickly. Sheila at times wanted to get close to Jimmy through Tommy but now she just wants someone to have sex with. Kelly has lost a child and she wants to hold onto it. That's what Tommy needs. In the end Tommy's emotional numbness is used against him corporeally.
 
60 minutes
This product was released around 2009 by FX
I consumed this around December 2009
More: Rescue Me - Season 5
Posted by: Jeff Egnaczyk at: 1/1/2010 6:16:15 PM
 
333
Rescue Me - Season 4 Denis Leary
Rescue Me - Season 4 Rescue Me was a disappointing and disjointed in its fourth season. Maybe what killed the season the most were Tommy Gavin's love interests. Nona, the volunteer firefighter that apparently saved his life in the season three climax, and Valerie, a voluptuous woman with odd sexual problems, didn't really hold up to Janet, Sheila and other love interests Tommy has had in the past.

Franco runs into problems with Natalie after asking her to marry him. Her mildly retarded brother is used for some comic relief. If that was all the writers did with Richie it would be offensive but they actually develop a relationship between Franco and Richie that makes Franco and Natalie's problems more emotionally difficult. Lou's road to recovery with women is tripped up by his family. Another full time character, "Black Shawn" (Larenz Tate) , arrives as a ringer for the house's basketball team. Chief Feinberg (Jerry Adler) becomes the new chief of the house.

Death ends yet another season. Also, throughout the season there are three instances of firefighters losing parental figures. Upon further review this is an interesting theme to ponder in an otherwise weak season.
 
60 minutes
This product was released around 2007 by FX
I consumed this around August 2009
More: Rescue Me - Season 4
Posted by: Jeff Egnaczyk at: 9/23/2009 7:14:42 PM
 
22
Rescue Me - Season 2 Denis Leary
Rescue Me - Season 2 As season two of Rescue Me starts, the crew struggles to put their lives back together. Jerry deals with the degeneration of his wife's health. He is forced to enlist the help of. and live with, his gay son. Franco fights addiction after his injury. Tommy must deal with a pregnant Sheila, the loss of his kids and his transfer to the doldrums of Staten Island. Lou finds himself alone for the first time in decades. As the season progresses things start to look up. Tommy and Janet makes amends. Lou finds a young woman. Jerry finds moments of happiness with his family. Franco gets the support of a member of the house. But it all comes crashing down for each and every one of them. The last two episodes were the reset button. Season three will start exactly where season two did. Just as there won't stop being fires to fight, there won't stop being personal issues for the firefighters.

Season two has some extreme moments that probably weren't necessary. A major death in the Gavin family and a major crime from a new found member of the family are the defining moments. In my opinion they were too much for an otherwise solid season. I won't say that Rescue Me is realistic because it's probably not and I'm not qualified to know what a firefighter's life is like. The heroism they exhibit and the action scenes surrounding fires are pleasantly understated for the most part. A worse show would ham it up. Still, there were moments the show's plot was far fetched. The struggles these characters dealt with throughout the season were enough without some of the sensationalism.
 
60 minutes
This product was released around 2005 by FX
I consumed this around July 2009
More: Rescue Me - Season 2
Posted by: Jeff Egnaczyk at: 7/21/2009 7:22:51 PM
 
4444
Rescue Me - Season 1 Denis Leary
Rescue Me - Season 1 There's something about Rescue Me that I don't like. Sometimes it just strikes me as an outlet for Dennis Leary's angry man shtick. It feels like Leary and his buddies are in a room thinking about all the awesome things they could do. Remember how we got so hammered that one time. I was doing this chick and I didn't even know her name for like 5 weeks. Dude, if we were divorced our wives would totally have to always be coming to us for money. Ha ha, look, our buddy is banging a fat chick. Gay joke. Chick joke. Hispanic maid joke.

To be honest though, they don't overdo it. I tired long ago of Dennis Leary's crew's humor. It's not that it's bad or always unfunny. I just tired of it. The fact that they cast Lenny Clarke as Uncle Teddy and I didn't ever get sick of him in the first season shows that Rescue Me isn't just a playground for jokes by men who haven't learned being an over grown adolescent isn't endearing. Along the same lines, the firefighters certainly complain about upper management, kids, women and political correctness. They are not always right though. At times they screw up and make themselves look like asses. Sometimes they even come to the realization that they need to make changes in their life. Sometimes not.

This FDNY house is a study in one of my favorite themes: the imperfect hero. In the last episode, the crew leaves a bar and looks across the river to see where the Twin Towers used to stand. Tommy makes a statement about how the shine on the FDNY has faded since that fateful day. The more the spotlight was shown on firefighters the more the public saw things they didn't like. Tommy is a bastard. Jerry doesn't speak to his gay son. Franco is a player with little regard for his sexual conquests. Sean and Mike are flat out stupid. They all have problems but they run into burning buildings none the less. Season one is very much about dealing with 9/11. Tommy Gavin is an asshole, plain and simple but he has the emotional scars from that day - a day where 343 firefighters, saints and sinners alike bravely gave their lives in the most dangerous of disasters.
 
60 minutes
This product was released around 2004 by FX
I consumed this around July 2009
More: Rescue Me - Season 1
Posted by: Jeff Egnaczyk at: 7/21/2009 7:19:07 PM
 
4444

Currently Reading


Nothing on the list.